HUGE!!! e.l.f. Haul

Happy 2015!!! I know I’m late on that one, but it’s taken me a hot minute to get back into the mindset to blog. Things got really hectic, and I just kept telling myself I’ll do it tomorrow, but that was a few months ago. I’m back now, and I’m ready to start this thing up again. I did plan on making a 2014 favorites post, but as I sat down to edit the photos, it turned out they were all really blurry for some reason. I’ll try to find time to take the pictures again, but if not I will be sure to include some in my January favorites. So stay tuned for that!

For Christmas I asked my husband for makeup (DUH!), and the night before he was going to go buy stocking stuffers, e.l.f. sent out a promotional email that their whole site was on sale. If you aren’t familiar with the brand, this does happen relatively often, but it’s always super exciting because their products are über affordable and they also offer free shipping over $35. Well, as you will see from the post below, hubby did good! I am so excited to share this with you. He was able to score some amazing things that have quickly jumped to my must-have list, and he also picked up some things I ran out of. Did I mention he did this all while staying within our budget? I know! He’s a keeper! Anyway, here is what he got me and the thoughts I’ve had so far.

DSCN2634

Hydrating Face Primer & Mineral Infused FacePrimer Tone Adjusting Green

The first two things were primers. The clear/white one is a hydrating primer I’ve been wanting to try now that it is the dryer, colder months, and my skin has a tendency to freak out. I really enjoy this primer. I feel like it helps add just an extra layer of moisture and helps keep what moisture there is from disappearing as quickly. It also doesn’t have that waxy feeling that some silicone-based primers have that will cling to dry patches. For occasions when I need my makeup to last, but I’m extremely dry, this does the trick. The green primer was a repurchase, and I love this one because it helps tame down the pigmentation on my cheeks. These primers are just as good as any other primer from higher-end brands and only cost $6 for 0.5 oz., so $12 for a full ounce.

DSCN2635

Corrective Concealer Erase & Conceal, Neutralize & Conceal

DSCN2636

Erase & Conceal, Neutralize & Conceal

The next two products are color corrector palettes. I have been wanting to try this type of product for awhile, but I didn’t want to drop a lot of dough on something that didn’t work. So, these are perfect because they retail for $3 apiece. The thinking behind these is that by using color theory, you can conceal and erase pigmentation and imperfections. I can honestly say these are some of the creamiest products I have ever used. They are so pigmented and blend out so nicely. I was 100% taken back by how much I love this, and I now have a new appreciation for color correction. I can do a post on which colors are used for what if you’d like; just comment down below!

DSCN2637

Erase & Conceal

DSCN2638

Neutralize & Conceal

DSCN2639

Flawless Finish Foundation Porcelain 

I have been wanting to try bases from e.l.f. for a long time, but I never could bring myself to pay $6 in the store when I couldn’t really see the colors properly and I also hadn’t heard much about them, so they fell to the bottom of my wish list. Now I am regretting that decision because I am obsessed with this foundation. Shade warning: There are only 6 shades in this formula, and this is the lightest. The undertone is warm, so beware: If you have a really cool undertones, and if you are really pale, maybe wait until the summer to give it a try. The consistency is pretty thin, which allows for it to be built up from a sheer to a nice medium coverage. The finish is really natural, and it wears very nicely throughout the day. This foundation is not for those who have oily skin because, while it won’t leave you looking splotchy, it will still wear off in oily areas. For those of you who have dry to normal skin and need an inexpensive everyday foundation, check this out.

DSCN2641

Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 Ivory

This tinted moisturizer is only $3, and I really wanted to pick this up for days where I needed something but didn’t want to do anything. Like long travel days, trips to the gym or grocery store, or even super hot summer days where nothing is gonna stay on my face. I’m really pleased with this. There are more shades than the foundation, and while they do run a little on the warm side, because of the sheer level of coverage, this should be good for most people. It does feel like a nice moisturizer, and I was actually surprised by how much coverage it had for the price. While it is still very light, it reminds me of the NARS tinted moisturizer. Bonus points for the SPF too!

DSCN2643

Maximum Coverage Concealer Porcelain 

This concealer retails for $3 and comes in four shades. Is it a nice concealer? Yes, it has a nice consistency that won’t be drying. Is it a maximum coverage? Nope, the pigmentation starts to fade as soon as you blend it out. I do still like it, though, because under the eyes it works really well. I was hoping it would work for blemishes, but not so much. It’s still a good concealer, but I do wish they would expand their shade selection.

DSCN2645

HD Lifting Concealer Fair & Balancing

These concealers are $3 apiece, and I was suckered in by the NARS-like packaging. While the product itself doesn’t really compare to the NARS concealer, these are still really nice. They are formulated to go under the eye and resist creasing and settling into fine lines. They have pretty decent pigmentation and work spectacularly on most days. If you have bad under-eye circles, maybe pass, but everyone else grab you some. I use the Fair alone or I mix it with the Balancing (lavender) to give me that over-the-top Kim K. highlight I’m still obsessed with. For fair-skinned girls who have a hard time finding a concealer light enough to achieve that look, try a lavender shade like this and it will work wonders.

DSCN2649

Fair & Balancing

DSCN2650

Under Eye Concealer & Highlight Glow/Light

This is also another $3 product, and I was hoping it would be similar to the concealers I just mentioned, but it’s not. The quality on this is lacking. There is hardly any pigmentation in the concealer, but when mixed together they do function as a decent highlighter. The white side alone is stark white, so I would suggest caution when using it. Are they gonna cover anything? No, but they will highlight the face.

DSCN2651

Glow/Light

DSCN2652

Makeup Mist & Set

This stuff is bomb! If you have been wanting to get into finishing sprays, but are scared to spend the money, then try this $3 option. I love this stuff! I haven’t noticed a difference in the longevity of my makeup, but it does a great job at getting rid of that overly powdered look that can happen. I also use this for foiling or wetting shadows, and it’s fantastic. I have gone through 3 bottles of it, and I will forever repurchase.

DSCN2653

Radiance Enhancers Spotlight & Sunrise

Again, like almost everything else, these highlight products were $3 apiece, and I wanted to try them because I thought they would be similar to the Mac Prep and Prime Highlighter pens. But they aren’t. The packaging looks the same and is something that is really easy to use, but these are shimmery in a more traditional highlighter sense. I really love these, and they blend out beautifully. My favorite is Spotlight because it is a beautiful pink. Sunrise is more of a rose gold that requires a lighter hand to apply, but is still beautiful nonetheless. One more plus about the packaging is they will be extremely travel-friendly.

DSCN2654

Spotlight & Sunrise

DSCN2655

Spotlight $ Sunrise

DSCN2656

Shimmering Facial Whips Spotlight, Lilac Petal & Pink Lemonade

Can you tell I am obsessed with highlighters? These cream highlighters are only $1 apiece, and I love the texture. They are easy to blend and really pigmented. Spotlight is a nice, creamy champagne shade, Lilac Petal is more of a pinky highlight and Pink Lemonade is a much darker pink that, depending on application, can be used as a highlight or a shimmery cream blush. These are really great products and help to give that dewy skin look. If you were only interested in getting one, Lilac Petal would be my suggestion.

DSCN2658

Spotlight, Lilac Petal & Pink Lemonade

DSCN2659

Baked Blush Passion Pink, Peachy Cheeky& Pinktastic

I have talked about e.l.f.’s baked products before, but I can safely say, hands down, their blushes are my favorite. At $3 a pop, you can’t go wrong. They are super easy to blend, pigmented and last all day. All the shades are shimmery, so if that’s not your thing then I have something else for you next! Passion Pink and Peachy Cheeky are gorgeous and just give your skin the perfect amount of color to have a nice natural glow. Pinktastic is really light and works best as a highlighter and it is one of the most beautiful highlighters I own. It is a champagne color that has a bit of pink mixed in with the golden beige tone.

DSCN2661

Passion Pink, Pinktastic & Peachy Cheeky

DSCN2662

Studio Blush Blushing Rose & Candid Coral

DSCN2663

Blushing Rose & Candid Coral

I have several of the studio blushes, and I can’t say enough good things about them. First, they cost $3. Second, they have amazing color payoff and blend out easily. Finally, they last all day. I received two shades that I hadn’t seen around the stores much before — Blushing Rose, which is a medium rose color, and Candid Coral, which is a light peachy shade. Both are amazing shades and I think would look good on most, but if you are a darker tone, be careful with the coral because it might not show up as well. Both contain a glitter of sorts, but it doesn’t transfer onto the cheek, so the finish is fairly matte.

DSCN2664

Blushing Rose & Candid Coral

DSCN2665

Baked Bronzer Maui & St. Lucia

Like I said, I love their baked products, and the bronzers are no different. They have the same consistency, pigmentation and wear time as the blushes and the same price point. I like to use St. Lucia in place of a blush and as a bronzer to warm up my face. In the warmer months, when I have some color, I will use Maui. Neither are overly orange either, which is something I find very important in a bronzer.

DSCN2666

Maui & St. Lucia

DSCN2667

Eyelid Primer

This is the $1 primer from the brand and, honestly, it works just as well as higher-end eye primers. It helps the shadows last longer without fading or creasing. This shade has no color once blended out, and I would recommend this to anyone. I have repurchased this many times and love it.

DSCN2668

Smudge Pots Crusin’ Chic, Ain’t That Sweet, Back to Basics & Brownie Points 

DSCN2669

Crusin’ Chic, Ain’t That Sweet, Back to Basics & Brownie Points

These cream shadows are $3 each, and I was so surprised how amazing they were. They are so pigmented that you actually have to be careful not to go overboard. They last forever on your lids and are creamier than most other cream shadows I have ever tried. I love to use these as an eyeshadow base, but honestly they work really well as a standalone product too. They dry to a powder finish, and the only con I have is they are not the easiest to remove, especially Brownie Points. I would buy these over Mac and Maybelline any day. Crusin’ Chic is a nice golden taupe, Ain’t That Sweet is a frosty baby pink, Back to Basics is a golden bronze and Brownie Points is a chocolate brown. They all have a metallic finish.

DSCN2671

Crusin’ Chic, Ain’t The Sweet, Back to Basics & Brownie Points

DSCN2673

Prism Eyeshadow Naked

DSCN2675

Prism Eyeshadow Sunset

These eyeshadow palettes are amazing, and while I don’t think I’d pay the $10 price tag for it, I for sure would pick it up on sale. The pigmentation of these is out of this world. They are soft and buttery, and just plain gorgeous. I love the neutral tones in the Naked palette and the bright shades in the Sunset; they remind me of summer. The only thing is that all of the shadows are a shimmery/ metallic finish, so you can’t do a whole look with this palette alone. These can also be used wet to give an intense look to the eye.

DSCN2674

Naked

DSCN2676

Sunset

DSCN2677

Mineral Lipstick Natural Nymph

Finally, I have three lipsticks to show you. The first is from the Mineral line, a really nude color called Natural Nymph that retails for $5. This formula is so wonderful and moisturizing. The lipstick has decent pigmentation, but does require a bit of layering. It is also my lightest nude and can easily look like concealer lips. I always choose to wear a gloss over this or mix it with another shade. It does last a good amount of time, but won’t hold up to smooching, drinking or eating. If you are fair-skinned and don’t have super pigmented lips, then this is a great option for an ultimate nude lip. Think Mac’s Myth but a better texture.

DSCN2680

Natural Nymph

DSCN2682

Moisturizing Lipstick Party In the Buff & Pink Minx

DSCN2683

Party In the Buff & Pink Minx

The last two lipsticks are cheaper at $3 and are from the Moisturizing Lipstick line. They go on smoothly and are really pigmented. They are moisturizing and very comfortable to wear, but not as comfortable as the mineral lipstick. Party In the Buff is a peachy nude that for most people will still be very light, but is much more wearable. Pink Minx is a basic pink lipstick. On the website it looked a lot lighter, and I don’t know if mine got mislabeled or they changed the shade, but it wasn’t what I was expecting. I still like the formula, and I actually didn’t have a similar shade in my collection, so it’s a happy accident. I should also mention these smell like Mac lipsticks, while the Natural Nymph has no scent.

DSCN2684

Party In the Buff & Pink Minx

That is all for my e.l.f. haul. It was really long and I’m happy you stuck around, AND I hope you maybe found your new favorite product, too. I also want to give a big thanks to my amazing husband, whom I love more than anything in the world and who gifted this all to me. I hope this year is treating you all well so far and it’s full of many more blessings to come.

If you have any comments, questions or e.l.f. products you think I should try next time, put them down below! 🙂

Stay beautiful,

Nichole

4 thoughts on “HUGE!!! e.l.f. Haul

Leave a comment